Independent Rock & Metal PR Agency
Category News

Back in July 2017 Boston-based progressive metal four-piece Protean Collective launched Collapse, their third full-length offering and successor to 2010’s Divided and 2014’s The Red and the Grey. Premiering today via Everything Is Noise (formerly It Djents) is a full-band playthrough video for the song “Under Siege” taken from the last year’s release. Watch it here.

Protean Collective has been active since 2005; the group was assembled at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. Consisting of guitarist and singer Graham Bacher, bassist Dan Ehramjian, guitarist and singer Steph Goyer, and drummer Matt Zappa, Protean Collective’s unique sound has developed though combining the experimental aspects and dynamics of progressive music, visceral energy of metal, and songwriting craft of rock. Years of working together and performing countless shows have led them to hone their own signature sound.

The band’s latest release — 2017’s Collapse — raised almost $5,000 in crowdfunding preorders and sold 207 copies in the first week. The album was — same as the predecessor The Red and The Grey — mastered at the Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden by legendary engineer Jens Bogren (Opeth, Katatonia, Symphony X). Mixing of the album was also done at the Fascination Street Studios by producer Andre Alvinzi. 

Over the years Protean Collective have shared stage with acts including Cynic, Scale the Summit, Trioscapes, Into Eternity, and more. They are three-time “Metal Act of the Year” nominee by Boston Music Awards in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

Watch a playthrough video for “Under Siege” at THIS LOCATION. For more information about Protean Collective visit the band’s website, and follow them on Facebook and Instagram. The band’s discography is available on Bandcamp.

Protean Collective line-up:

Graham Bacher – Vocals, Guitar

Steph Goyer – Guitar

Dan Ehramjian – Bass

Matt Zappa – Drums, Percussion

Protean Collective - Collapse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *