Independent Rock & Metal PR Agency
Category News

In partnership with Toilet ov Hell, Hyderabad, India’s deathrash metal purveyors Godless are launching a full-band playthrough video for the song “Empty Graves.” The song, featuring former Obscura guitarist Tom “Fountainhead” Geldschläger, is a part of the upcoming EP Swarm, out on October 27th.

Commented Godless, “Lyrically, ‘Empty Graves’ deals with reanimation of the dead and occultism. We also have ex-Obscura and Defeated Sanity guitarist Tom ‘Fountainhead’ Geldschläger playing a monstrous solo on this track. Tom’s solo just elevates the song to the next level; it was really awesome to have him on board. It was only fitting to have this as the closing track on the EP – a perfect epilogue. We’ve played this track live just a couple of times to date and it really gets the crowd going!

Geldschläger, who also appears in the playthrough video, said: “I’m happy to have been invited to play on the new Godless EP. I’ve had a ton of fun playing on it, as the track is just a huge rush of adrenaline and I love the way everything came together in the final product. Godless is a band that is definitely going places and will conquer the world, and I’m glad to have been a small part of that.

Godless have previously launched a single for “From Beyond,” available as a lyric video on YouTube. 

Swarm is out on October 27th, and is available to pre-order from Bandcamp (worldwide) and Instamojo (India). The release is also available on iTunes and Google Play Music.

Swarm Track Listing:

  1. Exordium
  2. Infected by the Black
  3. From Beyond
  4. Deathcult
  5. Empty Graves

Godless social media links: Facebook | Instagram 

GODLESS Return with New EP This September; Band Plays Wacken Open Air 2018

About Godless:

From their inauspicious origins within a very exotic metal music scene, India’s Godless slowly rose to the very top of the country’s death metal class. Interestingly, throughout this gradual but inexorable climb, the members of the band didn’t distinguish themselves for bringing innovations to the genre so much as for their unapologetic commitment to pure, unadulterated, lightning-fast, ear-shredding, thrash-influenced death metal.

With a name like Godless, it doesn’t take a genius to file the band into the realm of uncompromising music, but since being formed in mid-2015 by musicians who have been a part of the Indian metal scene for years, Hyderabad-based band have broken to also meddle in other old-school metallic forms.

Slowly developing their craft over the next year, singer Kaushal LS, guitarists Ravi Nidamarthy and Rohit Nair, bassist Abbas Razvi, and drummer Aniketh Yadav eventually recorded a four-track EP with the mission statement-like title of Centuries of Decadence, which was mixed and mastered by Joe Haley of Australian technical death metallers Psycroptic. After being brought under the Transcending Obscurity Records fold, Godless launched their EP in May 2016, which was met with rave reviews in media, including features in Rolling Stone India, Terrorizer, XXL Rock, No Clean Singing, Metal Wani, Brave Words, Dead Rhetoric.

2017 brought support slots for the Indian leg of Psycroptic tour, as well as Jeff Loomis and Swedish metallers Mindshift. The band restructured into a quartet when guitarist Rohit Nair left, and decided to continue as a four-piece.

Encouraged by their growing fan base and received feedback for the debut EP, Godless rushed back into the studio in early 2018 to record their sophomore EP Swarm, another blistering deathrash metal tour de force that boasts guest appearance from former Obscura guitarist Tom “Fountainhead” Geldschlager on the record’s closing piece. Mixing and mastering was done at the renowned Hertz Studio in Poland, known for their work with likes such Vader, Behemoth and Decapitated.

Un-phased, the band simply vowed to play ever faster, meaner, louder — making sure that their new effort was their fiercest yet. To cement their position on the Indian metal scene as one of the most admired metal acts, Godless won the local Metal Battle India competition, leading to their international live debut at the world’s most prestigious metal festival, Wacken Open Air, in August 2018.

Decibel Magazine premiered the first single from Swarm — a lyric video for the song “From Beyond” — in late August, stating that Godlessaren’t focused on showboating but on delivering a relentless, aggressive song.

Comprised of five songs, Swarm was released on October 27th, with total of three singles singles launched before the EP’s release date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *